Please keep in mind that when you are pulled over by a Police Officer that law enforcement can be dangerous work. Do not assume that the officer knows you are a law-abiding citizen, officers must be cautious at all times.
When signaled to pull over:
Stopping at night, especially in a secluded area or along a dark stretch of road, can heighten the tension both for you and for the officer. Officers do not object to a driver proceeding to the nearest well-lit area. Simply acknowledge the officer by turning on your flashers and drive at a reduced speed and stop as soon as practical.
If asked to exit the vehicle, walk to the rear of your vehicle to the side away from traffic, or as directed by the officer. Use the vehicle as a barrier between you and on-coming vehicles for your protection.
The officer will ask you for at least two pieces of information… your driver’s license and proof of insurance.
Please do not attempt to argue with the officer. This may increase the tension in an already stressful situation. Depending on the reason the officer initiated the traffic stop, you may or may not be issued a citation. If you receive a citation you will be advised of your options in making a disposition of the citation.
Once the traffic stop is finished, walk carefully back to your vehicle and watch for on-coming traffic. When a safe opportunity exists, carefully merge back into the flow of traffic.
A law went into effect in September 2003 that makes it a violation to pass certain stationary emergency vehicles on a highway. The Texas Transportation Code, Section 545.157, states that upon approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle using visual signals, an operator of a vehicle, unless otherwise directed by a police officer, shall vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle when driving on a highway with two or more lanes traveling in the direction of the emergency vehicle; or to slow to a speed not to exceed 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit when the posted speed limit is 25 miles per hour or more; or five miles per hour when the posted speed limit is less than 25 miles per hour
The Texas Family Code, Chapter 262, Subchapter D, offers women a responsible alternative to abandoning their newborns.